Welcome.

Take a tour. Enjoy some free sample content.

How it works

Free Video: CLP Video No. 287: Home Game Bart Reviews His Splashy At $1-$3 Deep Part 2

Free Podcast: CLP Podcast No. 54: Time Warp And Turn Value
New to Crush Live Poker?

$1-$3 turn top 2 & get check-raised

irwinbetirwinbet Posts: 383Subscriber
Game: $1-$3, $300 cap
Table is 7 handed
Preflop: I open to $12 UTG1 with 9 8. CO & both blinds call.
Villain in this hand is in the BB. I am the effective stack with $350. I've only played with him a time or 2 before so not a lot of reads but I do remember that he will peel flops with overcards & 2nd pair type hands.
Pot: $45
Flop: 8 7 2. Checked to me & I bet $25. Only the BB calls & we are now heads up.
Pot: $90
Turn: 9. He checks to me & I bet $45. He check-raises to $125. The pot is now $260 & we have $265 left. What's your play & why?

Comments

• cubbies95y Posts: 9Subscriber
    edited February 9
    (Disclaimer: I’m still learning)

I don’t see many bluffs here. AT/KT of diamonds maybe, if he’s capable? He shouldn’t have overpairs. Maybe he could have 97? A lot more combos of 65 and JT then that though, plus sets.

I think this is a fold all day.
  • GlennJones Posts: 147Subscriber
    edited February 9
    IMHO, kind of a tough spot. In the games I play (2/3, 1/3 NL in L.A.), a turn CR is never a bluff. If we look at the value combos that he can have here - 56 (16), 97(6), 87 (6), 99 (1), 88 (3), 77 (3), 22 (3).

What about overpairs (99, TT)? Would he check raise an overpair on the turn? I haven't seen that move very often. Same question with JT - how ofter is he peeling the flop with two overs and a gutter?

I think I would fold in this spot. The way I would look at this, I would be ahead of only a few value combos and would be drawing pretty thin against the rest.

I guess another option would be to call turn. You're getting a price and coul end up binking gin.