Welcome.

Take a tour. Enjoy some free sample content.

How it works

Free Video: CLP Video No. 287: Home Game Bart Reviews His Splashy At $1-$3 Deep Part 2

Free Podcast: CLP Podcast No. 54: Time Warp And Turn Value
New to Crush Live Poker?

Who's the donkey? 1-3 PLO hand

PhulHouze Posts: 200Member
I'm very new to PLO so forgive the newbness of the question. I play a lot of NL, so I just imagine I'm up against 6 NL hands....anyway.

Short-handed (5 players) 1-3 PLO table. Effective stacks $100. Loose aggro guy is raising about 35% pots pre to $12. 1 or two callers in-between. I look down at QheartTheartTspade8spade and 3 bet. I'm not quick enough at calculating pot size bets, so I just put out $45 and V calls. Flop comes KJ7r. I feel I'm basically committed with my open-ender, pair and a BDFD, with the pot now twice my stack. I shove for $55. Villain tanks and tanks, and finally calls with Aspade9club8spade7diamond. Board runs out 98, and villain takes it down with two pair (3 pair...).

So I know 3-betting w pocket tens is an overplay in PLO, but my thought was that I had a hand that was pretty well connected, and that I would be ahead of Vs open range. After seeing villain's hand, his calls struck me as particularly spewy. Am I underestimating the strength of the three card medium run-down with a suited ace? OTF, is he just committed with any pair given how close equities run? At the end of the day, doesn't this just mean that under 100 BBs any time you call pre, you're pretty much committing your stack?

Again, I'm completely new to this game, but I'm starting to see why people talk about the variance being so high - just seemed like any time two players got any piece of the flop, stacks were going in.

Comments

• shmed Posts: 321Subscriber
    So I greatly prefer his hand PF better than yours to go to war. I would read Jeff Hwang's first book if you haven't already.

His hand has two things going for it:
    -Suited A (draw to the nuts)