Welcome.

Take a tour. Enjoy some free sample content.

How it works

Free Video: CLP Video No. 287: Home Game Bart Reviews His Splashy At $1-$3 Deep Part 2

Free Podcast: CLP Podcast No. 54: Time Warp And Turn Value
New to Crush Live Poker?

Basic Preflop Spots

RyaninDC Posts: 31Member
I'm still learning the game, so these are probably very basic situations (given stack sizes). Still, wanted to run it by folks to make sure I'm not making errors in these quasi-short stacking kind of spots.

And maybe the more general question is, when do you simply over call with a hand (or what types of hands) in similar spots vs. shipping it in when relatively shallow?

$2/$2 blinds

Hand 1:
Hero ($165 and everyone covers) opens EP with JdTs9d7h to $8. MP calls, HJ raises to 35 and gets cold called by CO, BT, SB and BB. Hero shoves...

Hand 2:
Hero ($150 and everyone covers) in MP with JcJdTc9s. $5 straddle is on. 3 limpers in front of me, I limp as do a couple folks behind. Straddle makes it $40 and gets 3 callers in front of me. Hero ships.
Tagged:

Comments

• AesahAesah Posts: 1,048Pro
    hand 1 is extremely dependent on stack sizes. if everyone has roughly $165 then I would just flat, but if everyone else is really deep and you think HJ will re-ship for like $700 getting a ton of dead money is good so 4-bet

hand 2, same comments but your hand is wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy worse vs. a tight range. still an acceptable 3-bet spot though if you can expect the straddle guy to 4-bet
  • RyaninDC Posts: 31Member
    Thanks.

So the goal in these types of spots is really to setup a situation where all the callers are forced to fold their equity vs the theoretical true premium hand (HJ in hand 1, Straddle in hand 2) who we want to isolate us?

That makes a lot of sense, if so.