Welcome.

Take a tour. Enjoy some free sample content.

How it works

Free Video: CLP Video No. 287: Home Game Bart Reviews His Splashy At $1-$3 Deep Part 2

Free Podcast: CLP Podcast No. 54: Time Warp And Turn Value
New to Crush Live Poker?

Wild ass 1/2 bar game.

I have been playing this specific 1/2 game for a few months now and simply cannot beat it. It has mostly the same player pool every week of about 15-20 guys. It is played in the back of a bar and by mostly recreational gambling types. People buy in for $500+ and most of the time by midnight everyone at the table has easily 300bbs.

They use a 'rock' for strattling $10 and it can only be used UTG or on the button. Most times people even throw $5 chip on top so its $15... Im here asking for optimal play in situations like this...

Is this the type of game that can only be played with a strong pf range and simply betting for value? Raise good hands and just keep bet bet beting when a hand is made? How about flat calling those $10 strattles with 89suited? Ax suited? I feel like I'm bleeding so much by calling these types of hands. In this game a $20 pf raise is totally normal.

Opinions plz...

Comments

• ANason21ANason21 Posts: 166Subscriber
    Well, if you are all sitting with 300 BBs at 1/2, it becomes more like a 5/10 game with a mandatory $10 straddle, so instead of 300 BBs you all have 60. If people are straddling to 15, then it's even bigger (with shorter stacks). With stacks like these, the value of suited connectors decreases -- you usually won't be getting enough implied odds to call these hands -- and the value of pocket pairs and high cards increases.