Welcome.

Take a tour. Enjoy some free sample content.

How it works

Free Video: CLP Video No. 287: Home Game Bart Reviews His Splashy At $1-$3 Deep Part 2

Free Podcast: CLP Podcast No. 54: Time Warp And Turn Value
New to Crush Live Poker?

bottom set vs nit repping a monster

DTMooreDTMoore Posts: 156Member
edited October 2015 in NLHE Strategy Discussion
Bellagio 2/5. I'm new to the table and only have basic reads. Seems kinda soft.

I'm in bb with 33, mp limp, co limp, btn raises $25. He's a 40s amateur and I've only seen him show down tens, which he protected with a big flop raise (9-high board) and a turn bet, then checked the relatively safe river. No thin value or even fairly thick value — nitty checkback IP. An acquaintance grinder next to me says he's really tight.

I flat $20 more, so does cutoff. Flop ($80) K 8 3 bingo!
I check for a fairly standard checkraise line vs an amateur who'll never fold AK or AA. Cutoff checks, btn checks back. Hm. Does he have queens/jacks/tens or maybe he's capable of squeezing light? Doubtful...

Turn 6 , I lead small $30 to get called by worse, trying to rep a weak bluff. Cutoff folds, PFR raises to $65. We're heads up. This seems quite odd for a perceived nit after checking back the flop, but I have a monster so I don't give it too much thought. I 3bet to $125 (get value before a spade kills my action) and he quickly jams his $292 stack (I cover).

What does he represent? I figure this player would bet a vulnerable top-pair type hand OTF bc of the flush draw, although I suppose it's slightly possible he's getting fancy with aces/ak instead of protecting OTF. I have a huge hand, and given stack size I'm sure at least 1 person will tell me I have to call it off, but honestly what do I beat vs a nit's nit slowplaying the flop and 4bet-jamming the turn?