Welcome.

Take a tour. Enjoy some free sample content.

How it works

Free Video: CLP Video No. 287: Home Game Bart Reviews His Splashy At $1-$3 Deep Part 2

Free Podcast: CLP Podcast No. 54: Time Warp And Turn Value
New to Crush Live Poker?

Weird river check raise would you call?

ThehammahThehammah Posts: 7,090Subscriber
edited November -1 in NLHE Strategy Discussion
You almost never see a river bluff raise.. Was curious what y'all think ...

I am relatively new to the table. its a 3/5 100-300 game and I am waiting for a 5/5 NL game. One limper and I am in co.. I raise to 20 bb calls limper calls. I have never seen either player before.

Flop comes J86 two hearts.. ch to me and I make a cbet for 50..only the original limper calls.

Turn 9h .. well thats pretty much one of the worst barrel cards for me.. he checks I check..

River.. Ad.. he checks again.. So I bet 65 for value.. and now he raises to 130.. I just think this is pretty much a straight or better right? very weird that he checked to me .. most players would lead on this river.. but who knows.. I folded..

ww

Comments

• LOLshoveaments Posts: 10Member
    What was your hand?
  • whatsyourplay? Posts: 752Member
    Wendy, it's actually kind of cool that you didn't disclose your hand, intentionally or not. The interesting question is:
    What's the worst hand we are calling with in this spot?
    Check-raises on the river are very nutted most of the time, so without any further reads it's probably a good idea to fold everything but very decent flushes (J high and better maybe). On the other hand, it's pretty obvious that you can never have the flush, and the Ace is a good barrel card. For this reason, I would consider calling with straights and better in this specific spot.
  • ThehammahThehammah Posts: 7,090Subscriber
    Sorry.. I had AQ..