Welcome.

Take a tour. Enjoy some free sample content.

How it works

Free Video: CLP Video No. 287: Home Game Bart Reviews His Splashy At $1-$3 Deep Part 2

Free Podcast: CLP Podcast No. 54: Time Warp And Turn Value
New to Crush Live Poker?

Bashing my head against the wall. How to identify player types?!?

AM Posts: 20Member
edited November -1 in NLHE Strategy Discussion
At the beginning of Ed Miller's "Playing the Player", he says, "You have to identify correctly how your opponents are playing" and "I will help you to identify how your opponents are playing". Then he proceeds to never actually do that in the book.

HOW DO I DO THIS? For some reason, I can't seem to figure it out. I've been playing poker for a living for 9 years and I can't figure this thing out which is apparently so simply to most people that they think it can just be assumed that you're doing it. I try as hard as I can to observe and see what's going on, but I just can't put the data together. I play with regulars I've been playing with over a year and I have no idea if they're a nit or not. I can't even begin to imagine how others can pick up on this in a single session.

My inability to do this has completely crippled my ability to switch from online to live after Black Friday. I've ended up semi-compensating for this failing by short stacking, but although that makes more than most people think, it's totally stunting my game and my progression as a player.

Comments

• Uhhh I'd like to be helpful here but you've been a poker pro for 9 years and can't tell if someone is a nit or not? lol. Watch how the hand goes down, replay the hand after it's over from start to finish then analyze how each player played the hand. This has got to be a level
  • AM Posts: 20Member
    pokerja3 said